IFLA Green Library Award winner!

  Environment, Sustainability and Libraries (ENSULIB), with generous sponsorship from De Gruyter Publishing (Boston/Berlin), has circulated a Call for Submissions for the IFLA Green Library Award for the 4th year in a row.  34 submissions were received from around the world, including Austria, Botswana, Bulgaria, Colombia, Egypt, France/Reunion, Hungary, India, Iran, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Mexico, […]

IFLA Green Library Award!

Submit your Green Library project, initiative or idea… As essay, a video, a poster, an article or a set of slides — sky’s the limit! The deadline to apply for the IFLA Green Library Award has been extended to May 30, 2017.  The finalist will be recognized for his/her outstanding submission. The award includes € […]

IFLA Green Library Award 2016 – DUE APRIL 1

The IFLA Green Library Award is to reward the best Green Library submission that communicates the library’s commitment to environmental sustainability, including creating awareness of libraries’ social responsibility and leadership in environmental education, supporting the worldwide Green Library movement, promoting the development of Green Libraries initiatives locally and worldwide, and encouraging Green Libraries to actively present their activities to […]

Greening Your Library: Save Money and the Environment

An ALA online workshop this week Greening Your Library: Save Money and the Environment  with Kathryn Miller Wednesday, April 18th, 2012 2:30-4:00pm Eastern |1:30-3:00pm Central 12:30-2:00pm Mountain | 11:30am-1pm Pacific COST: $40 for 90 Minutes REGISTER In this workshop, Kathryn Miller, author of Public Libraries Going Green, will discuss practical ideas for how to become […]

Green Schools Save Districts Money

Education News offers a summary of recent “Local Leaders in Sustainability” report by the American Institute of Architects and the U.S. Green Building Council showing how greening schools is not only eco-friendly but saves districts money!  One example given is school system in Mississippi saving  $23,000 in energy costs in the past year by participating […]

New green blog to follow

Late this past spring the Alliance Library System (IL) created Green Blog “designed to help libraries of all sizes and types become more environmentally friendly.”  They have many good blog posts already – some focused on Illinois related initiatives but many can be implemented by a library anywhere.  Their focus is on topics of Environmental […]

Insiders Guide to Greening I.T. Free E-book

Great handout with various articles called  Insider’s Guide to Greening I.T (PDF) – a collection of stories, blog posts, and practical advice for employees from high-level to grassroots who want to start green initiatives within their organizations. Here is the TOC: Time To Stop The Greenwashing By Glen Barry with http://www.ecoearth.info Steps In Getting The […]